I’ve decided to make a change.

Originally, when I started this blog, I wanted to write about food, stress, products, and health for vegans and non-vegans in college (and beyond). But now I’m making a small adjustment.

To me, health is not just eating nothing but fruits and vegetables, spending two hours in the gym every day, and having less than 5% body fat. I see health as feeling beautiful and comfortable in your own skin, and showing your body love by giving it what it needs. I don’t think there’s anything wrong with the occasional Oreo (yup, vegan!) or indulging in some Ben & Jerry’s non-dairy Coffee Caramel Fudge. That stuff is good for the soul, man. So instead of focusing on health, I’m turning to self-love.

Lately, I’ve been feeling like my definition of health has become, ironically, less healthy. I follow all these health pages on Instagram and kick myself for not looking like all the thin, muscular girls I see. Which is dumb because I’m not unhealthy by any means; I’m a healthy weight for my height and age, I go to the gym and do yoga regularly, and I’m on a vegan diet, so I eat pretty healthy. Still, I can’t help but compare myself to everyone I see and lose a little confidence every time. I hate the media for throwing pictures of perfect models in women’s faces every day and I’m determined to show myself and everyone I come into contact with that we don’t have to look like Instagram models or the people in movies and commercials. We are all beautiful, and we all need to love ourselves. 

So, for my benefit and hopefully yours too, I’m going to start emphasizing self-love: Accepting where you’re at, embracing your flaws, and finding ways to love yourself more every day. In the words of Justin Bieber, “You should go and love yourself.”

Thanks for reading and sharing your time with me.

